Visit other City and County Websites in Missouri 


For more information about St. Louis government CLICK HERE

St. Louis’ mayor has primary executive authority with the legislative authority vested in a Board of Aldermen that is made up of 28 members. One is elected from each of the city's wards in addition to a board president who is elected citywide. The mayor shares some executive authority with 9 other independent citywide elected officials, including a treasurer, comptroller, and collector of revenue. The individual aldermen have a great deal of influence over decisions for the ward they represent on issues ranging from zoning changes, to street resurfacing.

Municipal elections in St. Louis city are held in odd numbered years, with the primary elections in March and the general election in April. The mayor is elected in odd numbered years following the United States Presidential Election, as are the aldermen representing odd-numbered wards. The President of the Board of Aldermen and the aldermen from even-numbered wards are elected in the off years.

Although St. Louis City and County separated in 1876, some mechanisms have been put in place for joint funding management and funding of regional assets. The St. Louis Zoo-Museum district collects property taxes from residents of both St. Louis City and County and the funds are used to support cultural institutions including the St. Louis Zoo, St. Louis Art Museum and the Missouri Botanical Gardens. The Bi-State Development Agency runs the region's Metrolink light rail system and bus system. Each district also includes a significant portion of St. Louis County.

The local county government provides services to St. Louis as well as a variety of special service districts. St. Louis County performs the dual roles of providing services to more than a million residents and local government services to the 300,000 residents of unincorporated St. Louis County. In St. Louis County, primarily private companies provide all water, natural gas and electricity, with only two of the County's 91 cities providing any municipal utilities. St. Louis County government, 60 municipal police departments, 23 fire protection districts and 20 municipal fire departments provide protective services in St. Louis County. The government also provides a broad array of public health services and has 12 private hospitals within its borders.

Important Phone Numbers for St. Louis City Residents
Alley Lights (314) 342-1000
Animal Control (314) 353-5838
Assessor's Office (314) 622-4185
Board of Alderman (314) 622-3287
Building Inspectors (314) 622-4671
Child Abuse/Neglect Hotline 1-800-392-3738
Citizens' Service Bureau (314) 622-4800
City Hall General Information (314) 622-4000
Circuit Court of St. Louis (314) 615-8029
Court Section (314) 622-4200
Handicapped Parking (314) 622-3686
Historic Preservation (314) 622-3400
Housing Conservation Districts (314) 622-3352
Housing Resource Center (314) 802-5444
Humane Society (314) 647-8800
Neighborhood Housing Services (314) 533-0600
Water Emergency (314) 771-4480
Non-Emergency Service Requests (314) 231-1212
South Patrol Division (314) 444-0100
Central Patrol Division (314) 444-2500
North Patrol Division (314) 444-0001
Recycling (314) 772-4646
Refuse Department Recycling Section (314) 353-8877
Street Lights Out (314) 622-4800
Stabilization Officers (314) 622-4628
Water Main Break (314) 622-4800
Water Service (314) 771-4880
Citizens' Service Bureau (314) 622-4800

For more information about St. Louis government CLICK HERE

  This St. Louis County and City website page is for Government, Officials, Representatives, Boards, Committees, Councils, Meetings, Agendas, Building, Zoning, Elections, Campaigns, Voting, City, State, Federal, Policy, Courts, Permits, Tickets, Regulations, Licenses, Community, Volunteering that is local in Saint Louis County, Saint Louis, Affton, Allenton, Ballwin, Berkeley, Bridgeton, Clayton, Crescent, Earth City, Fenton, Florissant, Frontenac, Glencoe, Grover, Hazelwood, Jennings, Kinloch, Lambert Airport, Lemay, Richmond Heights, Sappington, Bel-Nor, Bel-Ridge, Bellerive, Beverly Hills, Breckenridge Hills, Brentwood, Charlack, Glen Echo Park, Glendale, Greendale, Hanley, Hills, Hillsdale, Huntleigh, Kirkwood, Ladue, Maplewood, Normandy, Northwoods, Norwood Court, Oakland, Olivette, Overland, Pagedale, Pasadena Hills, Pasadena Park, Pine Lawn, Rock Hill, Sycamore Hills, University City, Uplands Park, Velda City, Velda Village Hills, Vinita Park, Vinita Terrace, Warson, Woods, Wellston, Bellefontaine Neighbors, Black Jack, Bridgeton, Calverton Park, Champ, Cool Valley, Country Club Hills, Dellwood, Edmundson, Ferguson, Flordell Hills, Hazelwood, Jennings, Kinloch, Moline Acres, Riverview, Saint Ann, Saint John, Woodson Terrace, Bella Villa, Crestwood, Fenton, Grantwood Village, Green Park, Lakeshire, Mackenzie, Marlborough, Saint George, Shrewsbury, Sunset Hills, Webster Groves, Wilbur Park, Chesterfield, Clarkson Valley, Country Life Acres, Creve, Coeur, Crystal Lake, Park Des Peres, Ellisville, Eureka, Manchester, Maryland Heights, Pacific, Town and Country, Twin Oaks, Valley Park, Westwood, Wildwood and Winchester. Places of interest in St. Louis County and City include Mississippi River, Washington University, Forest Park, Chain of Rocks Bridge, Mississippi Flyway, Cahokia Mounds, Mound City, Bella Fontaine, Castlepoint, Cliff Cave, Fort Bellefontaine, Kiener Plaza, May Amphitheater, Gateway Mall, Eternal Flame Park, Washington Square Park, Botanical Garden, Jefferson National Expansion Memorial and the Gateway Arch.

Can't find it here? - Check out these other menus for more local businesses.
Arts and Entertainment | Automotive /Transportation | Banking and Financial | Business Services | Coupons / Discounts
Food and Drink | Health Care | Home Products and Services | Lodging and Travel | Pet Services | Professionals
Real Estate | Salons and Spas | Schools and Training | Shopping | Sports and Fitness

For more information, Click Here.
©, Inc. 2021